Igntion Timing 70 LT-1

wolf

hi everyone,

i've been trying to fix some vacuum leaks with the carb. seems i have a gasket sealing issue between the carb and the intake manifold. rpm lingers around 1500 and slowly returns to an unstable idle at 700 or lower.

the engine runs perfectly with a stable idle between 800-900rpm with no problem going into the higher rpm ranges but sometimes it does the above mentioned problem.

in the meantime i decided to do something about the setting of the ignition advance. i'm a real novice as regards ignition timing. i've read the different docs available on the site.

i took a timing light reading with engine idling at 850rpm and found the balancer timing mark lined up with the 0° on the tab!

well i noted down some ignition advance numbers as this is my next step in setting up the engine.
vacuum advance to distributor plugged.
only centrifugal advance working.
distributor is a points type with the lectric breakerless ignition.

what to make of these numbers?
numbers are 'about' as it was quite difficult to hold the rpm and the timing light at the same time.

500rpm 0°
800rpm 0°
900rpm 0°
1000rpm
1100rpm
1200rpm 6°
1300rpm
1400rpm 8°
1500rpm
1700rpm 15°
1800rpm
1900rpm
2000rpm

vette is a 70 lt-1

thanks

:cool::cool::cool:

i'll try to answer my own question.
anyway i realized that the engine didn't have any ignition advance! i've been driving without initial ignition all this time!
with the lowest idle rpm possible and the vacuum advance to the distributor blocked, the engine had 0°.
i first tried with my dail timing light an advance of 4° by turning the distributor and the engine ran much better.
then set it to 8° at which it is now. engine runs a little rough to my taste but probably because i haven't reset the idle mixture screws or rechecked the float levels.

curb idle is now about 850-900rpm