Resume: need advice

VegasJen

Formerly Known as Clutchdust
So I think pretty much everybody knows my situation. It's never easy but changing jobs makes it really tricky. Here's the dilemma though. I'm putting my resume together and beginning the search for another job. Of course, my background is very mechanical/technical, as in hands on. I do have a pretty decent background as a manager/supervisor, which I am trying to focus on more. I would really like to try and find something a bit less hands on if possible but I don't really have any other skill set, and I need comparable pay to what I'm making now (of course, better pay would be... better).

Now all of my documentation, including my legal name, has been changed and all of my previous employers for the last 10-12 years know what's going on. But how would you suggest I list my actual work experience? I do have quite a bit more administrative type background as well but I just don't know if I'm going to get any supervisory type offers. Then there is the stigma of a female technician in mechanical fields. I'm thinking that can actually work both ways. Many places wouldn't even want to take a chance on a female in as a technician. But then I think that some bigger companies might like to be able to show off how diverse (read Affirmative Action) they are by employing a female in a typically male field.

Beyond the suggestions, I have my resume handy if anybody who hires would care to give it a quick read and comment.

FWIW, I actually look and sound the part. Most people who never knew me before wouldn't guess.