Adjustable Temperature Switch?

BBShark

Garage Monkey
Staff member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
4,553
Location
Right here
Been searching for a radiator fan temperature switch. Unfortunately you cant find the temp on/off settings for these switches. Summit lists a few but, when you look at the reviews, seems about 50% of people say they are on and off at dramatically different temperatures.

I found a few for old cars on Ebay and some show a set screw next to the terminal. I'm thinking this is an temperature adjustment? There is also 2 terminal switches with the same screw next to each terminal (presumably hi/lo). Anyone know if these old switches were adjustable?

TS 43 Other ra p
 

phantomjock

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
1,595
Location
Retired Again!
Can't answer your question - sorry. Buy I did buy 2 of these:
12695dbb551842dba
for my refrigeration system - to run fans from external power. Didn't install 'em so brought them home to run on the car instead. Haven't tried yet - but might be an alternative. Hey, only 11 bucks at Amazon. And there is a read out - but all in "C."

Cheers - Jim
 

rtj

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
2,454
This search term works:

adjustable thermostatic fan switch automotive

Lots of hits, pretty reasonably priced.
 

BBShark

Garage Monkey
Staff member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
4,553
Location
Right here
This search term works:

adjustable thermostatic fan switch automotive

Lots of hits, pretty reasonably priced.

All of the hits I see are the radiator "probe" switches. Thats not what I am looking for. I'm not so concerned with the temperature of the water in the radiator. More concerned with the engine.
 

BBShark

Garage Monkey
Staff member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
4,553
Location
Right here
Looks like I will have to use a fixed temperature switch. Found a source from Afco at Speedway that looks like it will work.

However, I am intrigued by the temperature "probe" style units for other purposes. You used to see this in auto A/C evaporators with black foamy looking stuff around it. This picture looks like the probe is band clamped and then foamed. You guys think this is to insulate the probe?

S l1600 1
 

mrvette

Phantom of the Opera
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
15,207
Location
NE Florida
Nah, that insulation just assures a more accurate temp sense of the chilly pipe as it runs near enough to freezing that any lie to the probe by the outside air at near 190f or so will upset the coil temp to maybe freeze up......
 
Top