Custom front splitter/air dam

vette427sbc

Here is my finished splitter/air dam that Ive been working on...
Some progress pics:

DSCF1136.jpg

BMW brake ducts molded in:
DSCF1169.jpg

Sanded, painted, and support rods in:
DSCF1192.jpg
DSCF1189.jpg
DSCF1191.jpg

Its just a hair over 3" off the ground... As long as theres no manholes or other objects sticking out over 3", I should be Ok. As for driveways, I worked as a valet for a while at a restaurant with a terrible parking lot entrance. Every car would scrape on it if they didnt know the correct way to drive up it. (Some woman came flying up the entrance and literally ripped her bumper off). As long as you enter with the car as parallel to the road (dont drive straight in) as possible, you could get anything to make it without scraping.

Custom fabricated parts are always cool, a challenge to the builder and a point of pride. Yours looks purdy good! Does it help improve air flow and cool the engine? Your car looks alot like my monza red 69 coupe did when it had sidepipes.

I like the chrome bumper much better than in black. Did you have it chromed, or buy one already chromed. NJ used to have some good chrome plating shops when I lived up that way, but now down in FL. After looking at the background in your photo, I remember why I moved down south. Last week, FL was the only state that did not get any snow.

Last edited:
Custom fabricated parts are always cool, a challenge to the builder and a point of pride. Yours looks purdy good! Does it help improve air flow and cool the engine? Your car looks alot like my monza red 69 coupe did when it had sidepipes.

I like the chrome bumper much better than in black. Did you have it chromed, or buy one already chromed. NJ used to have some good chrome plating shops when I lived up that way, but now down in FL. After looking at the background in your photo, I remember why I moved down south. Last week, FL was the only state that did not get any snow.