Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > EFI

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:28 AM
Dirtbuster1's Avatar
Dirtbuster1 Dirtbuster1 is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 665
My Photos: (46)
Default IAC Motor Test

Is there a way to test my IAC motors. I have driven about 20 miles now & they still have not reset. Is there a way to ohm them out. If I took them out when starting should they respond.

The car is still not idling up when cold. If you try and drive it cold, it is very sluggish & tries to stall.I don't want to buy new motors at 70.00 a piece & find out there is another problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2008, 01:16 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 14,503
My Photos: (3)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtbuster1 View Post
Is there a way to test my IAC motors. I have driven about 20 miles now & they still have not reset. Is there a way to ohm them out. If I took them out when starting should they respond.

The car is still not idling up when cold. If you try and drive it cold, it is very sluggish & tries to stall.I don't want to buy new motors at 70.00 a piece & find out there is another problem.
They have 4 pins?? if so, two have some continuity, the other two will have damn close, and there is NO conduction betewen the pairs....

the IACs I have on my L98 t body are similar, I suspect....screw in jobs abut 1.5 inches diameter and like a 1/2 NPT thread size....unscrew the things are clean them with carb cleaner, then blow them out, and a small dep of silicone spray....spray out the tbody IAC passages.....clean the tbody around the airvalve....black gunk buildup.....

put it all together and do the IAC set proceedure.....

hope that helps...

__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......
I love how Progressives want to have Darwinism taught in schools but denied as a reality in life.
All products should say "Do not use if your stupid."

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2008, 05:17 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,123
My Photos: (1261)
Default

they are STEPPER motors!!!!!!!!!!!!! You can NOT just test them like that.
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2008, 05:50 PM
Bullshark's Avatar
Bullshark Bullshark is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 667
My Photos: (158)
Default

MegaSquirt has a very informative page on IAC's Take a look at it, it may answer all your questions. If not, fire away.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Bullshark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2008, 08:19 PM
Dirtbuster1's Avatar
Dirtbuster1 Dirtbuster1 is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 665
My Photos: (46)
Default

Update,

I took the motors out today and checked them out. Both ohm 57 ohms on both sides of the motors. Put ECM in diagnostic mode, and they both move in & out about 1/8" inch. I reset them to 15/16" and reinstalled. changed ECM again for the hell of it, & the front IAC didn't move. The Rear IAC moved all the way in and stopped. The motor wasn't running even. Took them back out and remeasured gap. Same result.

If I screw them in & out by hand, one of them works ok, the other shaft does not want to go in unless I put alot of pressure on it. I unscrewed the shafts again, & put on some loctite. Don't know if this will help, but what the hell. Called O'Reillys and I have 2 coming tommorow if I need them. 70 bucks a peice.

Any suggestions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:04 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 14,503
My Photos: (3)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
they are STEPPER motors!!!!!!!!!!!!! You can NOT just test them like that.

I"m checking just continuity.....I know they are steppers...

just covering a base....I have never had one fail completely and cleaning has allways fixed the sluggish behavior....tbody need be clean in and out, the passages, and the blades...holes....carb cleaner and a air jet does it right in place....I suspect same for the cross fire....

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:15 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,123
My Photos: (1261)
Default

I've never had one fail either, well..they do fail if people try to move the pintle themselves. It's just a std. GM delco stepper motor.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:22 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 14,503
My Photos: (3)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
I've never had one fail either, well..they do fail if people try to move the pintle themselves. It's just a std. GM delco stepper motor.
STANDARD?? no such thing from what I seen...they have some 3 differant pintle heads.....and of course differant passages, and then we get down to these things are no longer screw in but some plastic bolt on

getting to like bending sheetmetal anymore....

Mass production my ass.....

a box is a box is a box allready....fine one that works well, produce IT, and fix the problems with the existing BOX, not reinvent the wheel....

ah nevermind, I in a pissy mood, fucking idiots of the world.....

lousey day at work with much adoo over nothing....

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:28 PM
Dirtbuster1's Avatar
Dirtbuster1 Dirtbuster1 is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 665
My Photos: (46)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
I've never had one fail either, well..they do fail if people try to move the pintle themselves. It's just a std. GM delco stepper motor.
TT,

Could you explain to me about moving or damaging the pintle. Is it normal to be able to unscrew the shaft. I am assuming since there are 2 coils that flux moves the shaft in & out.

Any suggestions would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:33 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,123
My Photos: (1261)
Default

If you forcefully push it in or pull it out it will damage the IAC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 AM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.