Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD General Discussion > Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1051  
Old 09-15-2020, 04:09 AM
SuperBuickGuy's Avatar
SuperBuickGuy SuperBuickGuy is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,574
My Photos: (0)
Default

usually it's a failure of the vacuum system... in this case, I have no vacuum so it wasn't even an option
figured out the distributor problem, a wire got caught between the base and the intake....edited
I see a bit lean, late timing....edited

what is 'stock'edited

I'm going back to it for the following reasons
1) there is nothing holding the lower row of rockers in line

2) note the alignment of the exhaust

3) doesn't fit well



I needed to also adjust the rockers - some were way out, but that's to be expected on a new motor....edited
Reply With Quote
  #1052  
Old 09-15-2020, 12:59 PM
CollegeKevin's Avatar
CollegeKevin CollegeKevin is offline
United States | n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 18
My Photos: (1)
Default

I'm not as technical as a lot of you here, but I do like trying to solve problems. For your actuator limiting, if you can't move the limit switches, could you put the base of the actuator on a floating bracket with a spring. Have 2 pieces of metal, 1 rigid mounted and 1 floating held in place with a guide and a spring to pull when it reaches full bottom. When it goes full up the spring would decompress.

Or use like a drawer slide that will allow enough travel of the actuator "extra travel". For example, if the actuator has 10" travel and you only need 6", have a slide that will travel 4".
Reply With Quote
  #1053  
Old 09-15-2020, 02:48 PM
SuperBuickGuy's Avatar
SuperBuickGuy SuperBuickGuy is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,574
My Photos: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeKevin View Post
I'm not as technical as a lot of you here, but I do like trying to solve problems. For your actuator limiting, if you can't move the limit switches, could you put the base of the actuator on a floating bracket with a spring. Have 2 pieces of metal, 1 rigid mounted and 1 floating held in place with a guide and a spring to pull when it reaches full bottom. When it goes full up the spring would decompress.

Or use like a drawer slide that will allow enough travel of the actuator "extra travel". For example, if the actuator has 10" travel and you only need 6", have a slide that will travel 4".
good thinking, it's how GM solved the problem - basically, my thought is remove the vacuum actuators and replace the with linear ones. The ratio is even about what you suggestion. the distance to lift the headlight with the pictured parts below is 9 1/2", with these parts, it's 3" and has springs to do what you suggest

Reply With Quote
  #1054  
Old 09-16-2020, 04:55 AM
SuperBuickGuy's Avatar
SuperBuickGuy SuperBuickGuy is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,574
My Photos: (0)
Default

back together, tomorrow I'll time it and put the new starter.... should have it done just in time for winter to hitedited
Reply With Quote
  #1055  
Old 09-17-2020, 04:15 AM
SuperBuickGuy's Avatar
SuperBuickGuy SuperBuickGuy is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,574
My Photos: (0)
Default

anyway
tonight was blowing warranties
first, I need to start looking at cutting off the anti-chatter from the new pads


then decide how to mount these
but first, take them apart
​​​​​​​
Reply With Quote
  #1056  
Old 09-18-2020, 04:37 AM
SuperBuickGuy's Avatar
SuperBuickGuy SuperBuickGuy is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,574
My Photos: (0)
Default

onto boring stuff....edited
shifter boot



new post covers

the problem is the top corner wears out and looks terrible


no idea how this happened... annoying, but not changing it for now


door panels are coming soon.edited I spent the balance of the evening tuning.... something is off - the IAC is wide open, maybe stuck, dunno... also 10 psi hot oil pressure at idle is not making me happy.... 60 psi at full song, but the low pressure....edited
Reply With Quote
  #1057  
Old 09-18-2020, 06:09 PM
SuperBuickGuy's Avatar
SuperBuickGuy SuperBuickGuy is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,574
My Photos: (0)
Default

I've said it before, and I'll say it again with illustration.edited The IAC isn't working, so today I called FiTech - they picked up their phone before it rang, answered the question and I have a couple things to do .... and bob's my uncle (well, he was but he died)...

There isn't an aftermarket EFI which works perfect out of the box.I've dealt with all of them now, but that 'doesn't even ring' before their tech line is there to answer my question should be the first thing anyone does when they do EFI.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 AM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.