Welder Power Dilema

BBShark

Garage Monkey
Staff member
I just bought a Lincoln ProMIG 175. This is a 220v welder.

Here is the problem. The elecrical cord on the welder is about 6 ft long. I could run it on my dryer outlet (which is a 50 amp breaker) with about a 25 ft extension cord. I don't even know if such things are made. Or, I could have an outlet added to the box that is located in the garage.

I got a quote to add the outlet in the garage and it was $250 minimum. I'm thinking the extension cord (if available) will work and be less expensive.

Any performance issues with doing this? I should mention, the manual states that the input current is 20 amps. Also, the electrical panel is about 15 feet from the dryer plug so, all together I will have short of 50 ft of wire from the panel to the welder.

Also, I know I could add a outlet myself but I have zero experience with doing that. Sounds dangerous :shocking:

I cheated. Since my bride wanted a gas range instead of electric, I pulled the power feed back into the basement and put an outlet on the end of it, and then built a 50' extension cord for the welder. I used the mate to the plug that was already on the welder so I didn't have to swap that. I also built a short jumper cord so I can plug the plasma cutter (120v) into that same extension cord. Way better than having to run another feed. I think I used 10/4 wire for it all.

You can get an extension cord to run from your dryer outlet- I priced them and it was cheaper to just build one from parts at the time.

There are probably 900 reasons why my system is not really good, but it works for me.

I ran my welder off the dryer socket for about a year when we were renting a house between sales. I made a 25 or 30' foot extension. I'm sure it would upset some people's sensibilities, but it worked fine. Just do the math on the current usage and the resulting voltage drop and you should be fine.