Aluminum wheels: Safe Paint remover?

The Artist formerly known as Turbo84
Clinging to my guns and religion in KCMO.
I recently bought some C5Z06 wheels to eventually put some wider rubber under the '69 for track days, but the previous owner had painted the rims a color that just won't work for me. I've never used paint remover on aluminum before, and am looking for suggestions for something that is safe on aluminum. Any good experiences with a particular product?

Thanks,
Mike

Jeez, Mike, been ages now, but years ago I used ordinary paint stripper on a bare set of aluminum wheels and rinsed it off fairly quickly, then to redo it in spots....no sweat....

now this was SO long ago the product was called Strip-Ezz by Savogran.....

you MIGHT get it at Sherwin or other paint stores....but I not seen it at typical Lowes/Despot in years now....

and I make NO promises about modern chemistry.....The putrid SMELL is similar to what they say is 'aircraft stripper' in stores today, but I swear it's not as good as once was....'-)))

I wouldn't use anything on any rim with tires on it....obviously....as you know, chemistry and me don't get along good, so even ME is not that stupid.....

:clobbered::censored::banned:

I used the "premium" HomeDepot stripper on my C6 rims as well as on my Mustang rims to get the ugly clear coat off and polished the aluminum.... no damage to the aluminum or my skin, that stuff doesn't even hurt or burn anymore, all this stuff is now "environment friendly".... BS because now you need a gallon where a pint used to get the job done...
as I said, I used their "premium" stuff for $12 a Qt..... that stuff that they sell for $7 a Qt is probably totally useless, might as well brush some Smuckers jelly on the rims

Last edited:
Chances are the paint is over the clearcoat. See if laquer thinner will remove the paint. It shouldn't have any effect on the clearcoat.