Hard brake line size difference front/rear

turtlevette

The Turdle
I've been working on the brakes for my old Surburban and it got me wondering about why the rear brake lines are larger diameter than the front. For instance on the burb, it has 3/16 front and 1/4 to the back Why not run 1/4 inch everywhere? I'm thinking its because 1/4 expands a fraction under heavy pressure causing spongy pedal.

The reason for 1/4? Because of the longer distance? OR Because you need 1/4 to feed 2, 3/16 pipes at the rear? With the kind of pressure generated you'd think intuitively it wouldn't really make that much difference.

I been scratching my ass over that one for decades.....and on one car I actually changed the line diameter, not that I can remember WHY.....

and it worked the same.....

so hoo, hoo, whooooo, nose.....

:beer:

I'm no way expert on the subject, but I read somewhere in the internet it has to do with the pressure the line can deliver to the caliper.
The smaller diameter the bigger pressure.
Since most of the braking power has to go to the front, the line is smaller.

I'm no way expert on the subject, but I read somewhere in the internet it has to do with the pressure the line can deliver to the caliper.

I really appreciate your answer, but i'm going to shoot it down by saying the pressure is about the same with larger front piston area alone creating more clamping force.

It's OK we're brainstorming.

I really appreciate your answer, but i'm going to shoot it down by saying the pressure is about the same with larger front piston area alone creating more clamping force.

It's OK we're brainstorming.

Thinking twice about what I said and realize you're right, brake line diameter does not change anything about pressure. Anyway I couldn't find the reference about what I previously said.