69 restomod

Ricks82

I just got started on my 69 project. It's a non numbers matching small block coupe that was apparently was tore down many years ago and has been sitting in pieces ever since. The final product will be a big block restomod. I just got the body off of the frame and the frame was worse than I expected. This is my first project of this caliber as well as my first experience with a rusty frame. What I am going to show first are picture of what look to be the worst of the rust. At this point all I have done is poke around with a screw driver looking for weak spots. I think that this frame would cost more to repair than it's worth. I would like to hear anyone's opinion on this. I already have a healthy 502 for this project so I figure a solid frame is a must. If this frame is a lost cause, there seems to be several places making new frames that accept C4 of C5 suspension. This seems like a descent option. A good used frame with composite front and rear springs seem like a nice improvement to the original 69 suspension. This is a 4 speed car, so I am a little concerned about putting a DANA 36 or 44 behind the 502. Once again any opinions (or options) would be great.

thum_4194d33717ec02e9.jpgthum_4194d3371c1aa880.jpgthum_4194d3371d6048fa.jpgthum_4194d3371e937ead.jpgthum_4194d337201296a8.jpgthum_4194d337223641f8.jpgthum_4194d337263bc4df.jpgthum_4194d33728e84584.jpgthum_4194d3372d8823f6.jpgthum_4194d3372fb985d3.jpgthum_4194d3373368edb5.jpgthum_4194d3373d0c5413.jpg

That frame is trash, and with it looking THAT bad....I would be very suspect of the bird cage....that part that secures the windshield, door hinges, under the sills, back to the latch, and up/over best told by looking at the areas around the w/shield and behind the kick panels...see a bunch of rust on those mounting/frame bolts there you got some issues above...

I would look for new frame, ASSUMING the 'bird cage' is ok, which is doubtful from looking at that frame....