6 vs 4 caliper piston area

vette427sbc

Why is it that most 6 piston calipers have a smaller piston area? The wilwood SL6 calipers have a 4.04 sq inch area and the SL4's have a 5.18 sq inch area. Does more surface area always mean more clamping force? It seems like this caliper would have far less area than say the SL4's, yet these are supposed to be a big upgrade. http://www.vividracing.com/catalog/...iston-caliper-chevrolet-corvette-p-93758.html
The calipers Im looking at are Porsche 955 (cayenne) front and rear calipers (monoblocks :cool: ) The fronts use 30/34/38mm pistons equaling a total of 2750mm^2 or 4.26in^2
Would/could this be fixed or remedied by using a different size master cylinder?
Im still a brake system noob so forgive me... I cant seem to find any decent reading material about this kind of stuff online
:confused:

The more pistons do ahve a smaller area but the smaller bores make for a stiffer caliper. Also, a differential bore setup has a much more uniform pad&rotor temperature profile over the contact area when compared to a typical 4 piston.

Most people buy the 6,8 or even more piston calipers because it looks cool.

What would need fixing on the brembos?

I guess I worded that a little funny... I havent found a specific set yet. By "fixing", I was referring to the less piston area and clamping force possibly being less than ideal, and changing that by using a different bore master cylinder (is that possible? And is piston area directly related to clamping force?) Aside from being lighter, stronger, and less prone to heating up would these calipers have better or at least equal clamping force as the stock calipers?