Dyno's running, now what?

GT6Steve

Friends,

I have recently purchased a G0-Power water brake dyno for the shop. Yesterday I ran it for the first time and got repeatable results but I have no Stinkin' idea how to run a test.

Can anyone point me to some learnin? I'm a scientist by nature so this is going to be a good tool.

Anybody know what SAE J606/607 means?

Thanx in advance...Steve

Depends on what type of brake you have. Basically there are two types, namely constant volume waterbrakes & constant fill waterbrakes.

The first one uses 'sluices' to control the amount of resistance the brake creates and with the latter the resistance is controlled by the amount of water in the brake.

The way you operate the brake depends on the type of test you are doing.

If for instance you would like to check the power the engine produces at a certain rpm, you would bring the engine to, say 3000 rpm. Then you would increase the resistance of the brake = increase the load on the engine. Each time you increase the load, rpm will drop and you will have to adjust by giving it more throttle.
At a certain load, the rpm will not increase anymore. This is the point of maximum torque and that is the torque of the engine at that rpm point.

Second way of testing is with a certain fixed load and then you accelerate the engine from say 1500 to maximum rpm. You measure the time between the 1500 and say 7000 rpm point and with the fixed load you can calculate horsepower.

There is much more to it, but basically this is the idea.