My 81 Vette Build Thread

1981Z06Vette

I have had my 81 for a few months now, and I am just getting started on the frame-off rebuild. I'm building with a Pro-Touring influence...basically, I want the car to be daily driveable, very reliable, get decent mileage, and have the ability to be driven anywhere, while still having the power to do well at the dragstrip and the suspension/brakes/tires to hold its own on a road course. I'm not building a racecar, but the goal for the car is about 450RWHP, naturally aspirated. I was originally planning to do an LSx/T56 swap, but due to the cost and the fact that I already have a built LT1 383 (more about that later) I am going to use it. It performs very well in the 97 Camaro SS it is currently powering, and should do even better in the lighter Vette. I'm going to use an earlier iron rear (4.11, using the Posi tuning and rebuild advice from Gary and Stinger) with the original aluminum batwing, and makes several suspension and braking upgrades (still deciding exactly what). Wheels and tires will be 18s or a 17/18 mix. I'm planning to paint it exclusively with Spies-Hecker products, Porsche Guards Red with a black center stripe and do a black leather interior with C5 Sport seats.

Here are a few pics of the Vette, just after purchase.Overall, the body appears to be in pretty decent shape. The front bumper cover is toast, and I plan to replace the hood anyway (L88 style), but the rest should be usable as is. It appears to have been repainted once. I'll be stripping it to the bare fiberglass (SMC).

101607_17011.jpg

101607_16541.jpg

101607_16561.jpg