Towing and auto trans

Belgian1979vette

I know that one cannot tow an automatic equiped vehicle with the drive wheels on the ground, but can anyone here explain exactly why this is so. I have some very basic knowledge about the auto trans, but that is basically it.

Thx

I know that one cannot tow an automatic equiped vehicle with the drive wheels on the ground, but can anyone here explain exactly why this is so. I have some very basic knowledge about the auto trans, but that is basically it.

Thx

That is a very olde tyme thing from the daze of the 4 speed hydromatics of daze gone past....

they had two pressure pumps, I am told, and so if the driveshaft was spinning the rear pump would be supplying pressures to somewhere.....

over the last 50? years now, the things have only a front pump, direct engine driven...so not a issue.....

obviously you put it in neutral.....duh.....

With no rear pump and in neutral, the rear shaft and all the rear planetary gears are being driven with no lube pressure. So they overheat. If you're going to tow any distance you need to pull the driveshaft. I wouldn't recommend any long distance stuff, but it is possible to leave the engine idling in neutral to keep it all under lube pressure.
Even a manual trans will overheat if towed a long distance. The rear half is spinning and the front half and the countershaft is not. I've seen manual trannys that have been towed with the driveline not removed. It was ugly. And expensive.

Last edited:
Tim, really?? I thought those output shafts were free to rotate with no pressure on the output clutches/clutch packs....

I retract my statement....

:eek:h:

Tim, really?? I thought those output shafts were free to rotate with no pressure on the output clutches/clutch packs....

I retract my statement....

:eek:h: