TH350 Rebuild

stinger12

I need to do some research before I rebuild my TH350. What is the best book out there for rebuilding the TH350? Anyone here rebuild TH350 transmissions for a living?

Get an ATSG manual and a transgo vid.

As for books, Ron Sessions TH350 handbook don't know any others

I rebuilt a ton of them about 35 years ago when I was a line tech at a Chevy dealership. I probably still remember a little bit. :eek:

Auto Tranny Svc Group is the publisher....ATSG they have a basic reprint of the GM lit with tips and hints....things to look out for....read it first....

Trans Go is your shift kit, accept no other....

like the 400, I understand they are fairly easy to do.....but the real expert here has not been around much recently....that's TimAT.....

he knows them really well, used to work GM dealership....tranny guy....
now a daze he flys the world on aircraft projects....so give him some time....

meanwhile look here, he did post about a 400 rebuild project, and maybe he did a 350 also.....

IF the car is intended to be street driven you maybe want to look into a 200 4r for the car.....overdrive and almost as much durability as a built 350....

350 did come for one year I know of with a lockup converter 350c....in '81 for a vette....dunno about rest of the lineup....

In my old Pontiacs that weighed nothing less than 4100 lbs, I found the 350 to be lacking in durability....so went 400 back when....but keep in mind thost 400-455 Pontiac engine did a easy 450-550 ft lbs at nearly idle....

I buy tranny parts locally, but maybe some other guys know better for your situation....you could try NAPA though, they did have a lockup solenoid for me here next door....

:D